About these ads

LA Kings Get The Shaft On Disputed Goal That Should Have Been Reviewable Years Ago

COMMENTARY/ANALYSIS: The Los Angeles Kings had a likely victory snatched from them by on-ice officials in Detroit on January 18, when video replay showed that a Detroit goal should not have been allowed. Was the right call made? Should the goal have been reviewable? What’s next?


Photo courtesy
National Hockey League

LOS ANGELES — On January 18, forward Jeff Carter scored a power play goal at 17:45 of the third period to lead the Los Angeles Kings to a 2-1 victory over the Detroit Red Wings

At least, that is probably the way the lead for a recap of this game should have read. Instead, the Red Wings pulled out a 3-2 shootout victory after the officials allowed a goal at 19:33 of the third period by Detroit’s Niklas Kronwall that never should have counted.

On that highly controversial play, Kronwall got the puck at the top of the slot and fired a slapshot that deflected off of Kings center Jarret Stoll’s stick. The puck ricocheted high into the air, hitting near the top of the protective netting behind the Kings net. It then dropped, bounced off of Kings goaltender Jonathan Quick’s back, and wound up in the net.

At that point, referee Rob Martell pointed to the net, indicating that a goal had been scored.

Read more of this post

About these ads
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers